Universities.—Of the 23 universities, six are state-controlled (New Brunswick, Toronto, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia); four others are undenominational (Dalhousie, McGill, Queen's and Western); while the remainder are denominational, St. Dunstan's, St. Francis Xavier, St. Joseph's, Laval, Montreal and Ottawa representing the Roman Catholic Church, King's College, Bishop's College and Trinity College representing the Church of England, Acadia and McMaster representing the Baptist Church, and Mount Allison and Victoria representing the United Church. Victoria and Trinity are in federation with Toronto and King's College with Dalhousie.

Colleges.—The 83 colleges may be roughly classified as six agricultural, two technical, one commercial, one pharmaceutical, one dental, one veterinary, one military, two law, 30 theological, together with 38 other affiliated colleges, including 31 classical colleges, little seminaries and independent non-subsidized classical schools in Quebec¹. The classification of the 83 colleges actually listed is somewhat approximate, for the reason that a large number of theological and other colleges offer courses in arts or preparatory courses. Macdonald College, for example, might be classified as both agricultural and affiliated, or it might be excluded from the list of colleges and regarded as a faculty of McGill University. It is included above among the agricultural colleges, which include the Nova Scotia Agricultural College, Macdonald, Oka and Ste. Anne de la Pocatière in Quebec, Ontario Agricultural College and Manitoba Agricultural College. The technical colleges are the Nova Scotia Technical College and the Alberta Institute of Technology and Art. Law schools are the Ontario Law School (Osgoode Hall), in Toronto, and the Manitoba Law School. The dental, veterinary and pharmaceutical colleges are in Ontario. The theological colleges are:---the Presbyterian College and the Holy Heart College, in Nova Scotia; the Presbyterian College, the Montreal Diocesan, the Wesleyan Theological College, the Congregational College and 8 Catholic Theological Colleges, in Quebec; Knox, Toronto Bible, Waterloo, Huron and Wycliffe, in Ontario; Manitoba College and St. John's, in Manitoba; St. Chad's, St. Andrews, Emmanuel and Collège Catholique de Gravelbourg, in Saskatchewan; Robertson and Alberta Colleges, in Alberta; and the Anglican Theological College, in British Columbia. The affiliated colleges for arts, etc., are:-Prince of Wales, in Prince Edward Island; St. Anne's and St. Mary's, in Nova Scotia; St. Michael's and St. Jerome's, in Ontario; Brandon and Wesley, in Manitoba; Edmonton Jesuit, in Alberta; and Columbian Methodist College, in British Columbia. The miscellaneous colleges are Ecole des Hautes Etudes Commerciales, in Quebec, the Ontario College of Art and the Royal Military College in Ontario, together with the 9 independent "secondary" institutions in Quebec. The Edmonton Jesuit College is a classical college and is "associated" with Laval University, but the 21 classical colleges above mentioned are all situated in Quebec and "affiliated" or "annexed" to the Catholic universities. An "affiliated" college in Quebec means a college of which the university has direct control of the courses and degrees; an "annexed" college is one of which the university merely approves the curriculum and by-laws, is represented at the examinations and sanctions

¹Certain other institutions incorporated with the Universities of Montreal and Laval are sorretimes known separately as colleges; for example, the Polytechnic School affiliated with Montreal; 2 institutes of modern secondary education, 1 affiliated with Montreal and 1 with Laval; 30 convents and 5 household science schools: 17 convents and 3 household science schools affiliated with Montreal and the remainder with Laval; 2 Lastitutes of Modern Secondary Education, one affiliated with Montreal and one with Laval. All these are affiliated for arts only and contribute to the registration in arts of the 2 universities as seen in Table 15. Mention should also be made of 2 schools of fine arts, 1 in Montreal and 1 in Quebec, and 7 technical schools. The enrolments of the schools of fine arts and of the technical schools are included in the vocational schools in Table 10, but the students in their fouryear day courses might logically be included with the registration of the other colleges and are actually included in item 11 of Table 1.